Home Calendar Our Officers About Optimism How To Join Optimist Creed
Our History Newletters Service Projects Bowl-A-Thon Golf Tournament   
Optimist Club of San Antonio
Club History
1955 - 1964 - Our Fourth Decade
Kelso T. Smith

Edward C. Reichardt

Marvin Hartung

John T. Keene

Horace Hebdon

Frank L. Jones

Roland M. Aycock

W. J. Dickerson

Harold Burke

George R. Johnson
The period 1955 through 1964 was a very fine period for the Optimist Club of San Antonio. Many new clubs were formed during this time. Our club chartered Sunrise Optimist club, Optimist Club of Petroleum Center, Valley Hi Optimist club, Castle Hills Optimist club and the Windcrest Optimist Club in the San Antonio area.

The program to recognize the Outstanding member each year was started. First Outstanding Member was Mart Kilcoyne, 1945-1946.

1955 - Headed by Father Bob Schmidt, the club sponsored a four day Youth Leadership Institute.

We participated in the March of Dimes Street Campaign using both Optimist Club members and Members of the Junior Optimist Clubs.

1956 - Board of directors approved sponsoring the Clyde Beatty Circus.

Florence A. Jewitt bequeathed to Optimist club 1/8th of her estate.

A Boy Scout Troop was sponsored at Bexar County Home for Boys.

Council of Presidents of the Optimist Clubs of the San Antonio Area was organized. Elmer Dobbins, Lt Governor of Zone 2, Sixth District was its first chairman.

Youth Appreciation Week was declared and Leland Austin served as first General chairman.

Eddie Reichardt was named Outstanding Member, 1955-1956..

1957 - Girls Council approached the Club for assistance with Aganier Hall.

Horace Hebdon was named Outstanding Member, 1956.

1958 - Two teachers from LaCoste School were honored at a luncheon for saving the lives of forty children during a recent tornado.

The Knothole Gang project was discontinued.

The Emergency Reserve Fund was started, $1,000 was placed in a special fund to build an equivalent of one year's fund-raising in the event it was needed in future years. The intent was to add to the fund each year until a goal of one year's youth funding was reached.

Dick Dickerson was named Outstanding Member, 1957-1958.

1959 - The Club installed an asphalt tile floor for the gym at Boys Club Unit 4.

Retail price for Christmas trees was raised fifteen cents due to an increase in cost.

Roland Aycock was named Outstanding Member for 1958-1959.

1960 - International President Nick Mueller attended a club luncheon and the family fun Fest.

Funds were appropriated to support Optimist International Program, Bicycle Safety Week.

John Swope was named Outstanding Member for 1959-1960.

1961 - Horace Hebdon was endorsed as Governor. Sixth District.

Lindy Burgess was named Outstanding Member for 1960-1961

1962 - Optimist Club of San Antonio hosted Halloween parties at four Boys Clubs for 800 boys, & Christmas parties for 1,500 boys.

Citation of Meritorious Service was presented to Ruth Maxine Vaughn, handicapped Person of the Year.

Louis E. Sein, Sr. was Outstanding Member for 1961-1962.

1963- In cooperation with other service clubs, the week of March 26, 1963 was set aside as Freedom from Hunger Week and a special "Hunger Meal" was served for $1.00, with an additional $1.00 being sent to United Nations Freedom From Hunger Committee.

Optimist-Lions charity Ball Game and Fun Fest was discontinued as a project.

Harry Lambrecht was named Outstanding Member, 1962-1963.

1964 - Attorney General's Youth Conference was added as a youth project. A state-wide program, its goal was to enable outstanding students to be part of the solution instead of the problem.

The club sponsored Frank Stenger, a student at the University of Texas, to New York to attend the Model United nations Meeting for College Students. Optimist International made changes in districting. And the Optimist Club of San Antonio became a member of the South Central Texas District.

Jim Westberry was named Outstanding member, 1963-1964.