Home Calendar Our Officers About Optimism How To Join Optimist Creed
Our History Newletters Service Projects Bowl-A-Thon Golf Tournament   
Optimist Club of San Antonio
Club History
1985-1994 - Our Seventh Decade

Dick Norton

Russell D. Greiner

Leigh A. Ewing

Leroy P. Muehlstein

Terry A. Cleveland


Steven Jett

Robert C. Cole

Robert A. Rubin


Jim Hollerbach

Mark S. Wittig

Duane Westerman
1985 - We began the year with 141 members. Don Hand was President of Optimist International The Optimist Basketball Classic was held Dec 13-15.

Other Youth activities included Youth for Christ Jog-a-thon., Oratorical contest, Essay Contest, Hugh O'Brein Youth Foundation Seminar, Young Tex-Anne, City-wide Bike Rodeo, and Little League. Ashley Thomas our Oratorical Contest winner was also Zone winner & will compete in District competition. The winning Senior Division little league team at Basse & McCullough was sponsored by our club & coached by our own Terry Cleveland.

Horace Hebdon passed away.

Members voted for a dues increase effective Jan 1, 1985.

John Anthis received a tie tack for having recruited 25 new members.

Christmas tree sales profits over $10,000. Youth budget was limited to $8,500 for 1984-1985 due to very poor 1983 Christmas tree sales. A rummage sale was also conducted and raised over $2,000 for the Youth Budget.

The Judson/Kirby/Converse was chartered Jan 26 by the Alamo Heights club (one we formed) does that make us grandparents?

Elliot Johnson was selected as the Outstanding New Member and John Campbell was selected as the Optimist of the Year.

Marshal Dodge was elected Lt governor of Zone five.

The Club was recognized as a"Top" club again.

1986 - Joe Johnson and Judge Moliere Scarborough passed away.

The Southside Optimist Club was chartered November 23rd. The Westside Optimist Club was chartered on Sept 3rd.

The Meadowland, a residential facilities for girls, of Youth Alternatives was opened in August.

The Ed & Freda Jackson Scholarship fund was established.

Christmas tree sales netted $6,482, & the Rummage sale $1,395.

Ricky Dickson was selected as the Outstanding New Member and Bert Richey was selected Optimist of the Year.

1987 - The "Just Say No Program" kicked off in the NEISD. Candy canisters were placed in local businesses to receive donations to support this program.

Rocky Rockstroh elected to a two year term as an Optimist International Vice President.

Optimist International, at Annual Convention voted to delete the "men only" criteria from membership requirements. The WGOC became the first Optimist in the city to enrol a woman, Judge Susan Reed, of the 144th Criminal District Court as a member.

Ended the year with 108 members.

Robert Rubin was selected as the Outstanding New Member and Dale Clark was selected as Optimist of the Year.

The Optimist Bowling League was discontinued.

The YMCA designated a two week scholarship to Camp flaming Arrow in honor of O. P. Schnabel.

1988 - The Randolph Metrocom Club chartered Jan 30, 1988.

John Anthis was president of Boysville. Leigh Ewing was Lt governor for Zone 5.

D. F. Sanders a long time member passed away.

Christmas tree sales netted $7,000 for the Youth budget.

We had 10 visitors from the Foreign language School at Lackland AFB representing 10 different countries from around the world.

Leigh Ewing was selected as the Optimist of the Year and Jim Hollerbach was the Outstanding New Member.

1989 - Bill Bayliss, Elmer Critchett and Dr John Cegelski, all long time Optimist members passed away.

The Club instituted a "Back-to-school" program to assist several of the youth serving agency in providing school supplies etc., for youth returning to school. The Optimist also supported the "Hole-in-one" program of the Texas Open Golf Tournament to help Youth Alternatives raise money.

Board decided to rename the Outstanding new member award in honor of Rocky Rockstroh.

The Civic Center Building was sold by the Frost Bank to the city of San Antonio. The Club moved to new quarters at 911 N Main after a short stay on Broadway while the new facility was being made ready.

Christmas tree sales netted $8,000 for the Youth Fund..

Otto Tezel was named Optimist of the Year and Billy Pitts was named Outstanding new member.

1990 - A fire at Boysville destroyed there gym.

Jim Keyes was president of Boysville.

We started the year with 97 members.

Christmas tree sales raised $11,000 and the Bowl-a-thon raised $3,500 to support the youth budget. $3,000 was donated to the O. P. Schnabel Park.

The Alamo City Heat - The Police Department Jazz Band organized to help fight juvenile crime was honored during Law Enforcement Week.

A Jr. Optimist Club was organized at Mark Twain middle School under the guidance of Ralph Medina.

Ron Kendal was selected as Optimist of the Year and Duane Westerman was the Outstanding New Member.

1991 - Rocky Rockstroh was recognized for raising $10,000 for Optimist International from the South Central Texas district.

We started the year with 90 members.

Christmas tree sales netted $8,000.

By Laws were change to include a position of President elect. Jim Hollerbach was the first elected to this position.

Roger Riley was selected Optimist of the Year and Ted Cleveland was the Outstanding New Member.

1992 - Long time member Henry J."Rocky" Rockstroh passed away. Rocky was well known for many thing in Optimism by was especially known for his club building efforts. He was responsible for building over 20 new clubs.

Don Hand presented a Benefactor Award to Lynn Allen and a special tribute to Rocky Rockstroh for his OI activities.

Arthur O'Krent was Optimist of the year and Bill Johnson (formerly a member in New Mexico) was the outstanding new member.

1993 - Christmas tree sales provided $3,200 and the Bowl-a-thon $12,00 for the Youth Activities Fund.

Frank Leonard, Sam Hopkins and Fred Helmle passed away.

The first Vocational Scholarship was awarded to Ruben Huizar from Boysville to attend Texas Technical Institute in Waco for two years to attend the auto body repair certification course.

Terry Cleveland was named the Optimist of the Year and Mark Morkovski was named the Outstanding New Member.

- Christmas tree sales produced $8,000 and the bowl-a-thon 15,800 for the youth activities budget.

Jim Hollerbach organized the WGOC first Dove Hunt.

The WGOC celebrated their 70th Anniversary. The gala was chaired by Donn Hand.

A "mentoring program" was instituted at Hawthorne Elementary School. Many optimist became involve with this program and mentoring at other schools.

A 70th Anniversary program to install 70 basketball goal in the housing projects was instituted and completed.

Lyman Mereness (South San Antonio High School 1937-1939) visited the club and told what a great influence the "Knothole Gang" had on his life. He thanked the WGOC for providing this opportunity.

Paul Tarrillion was Optimist of the Year and Tom Gathoff was the Outstanding New Member.